Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme at UK Universities

DFID/UK Universities
Masters Degree

Deadline: 16 April 2014 (annual)
Study in:  UK
Course starts September 2014

Brief description:

The UK Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme provides scholarships for international students from developing Commonwealth countries who wants to study a postgraduate degree in UK Universities.  It is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from DFID), and UK universities.

The Scheme allows them to contribute toward the development of their home countries. Awards are for taught masters courses only. No awards will be made for undergraduate or doctoral study.

Participating Universities(s):

Scholarships are only available at participating universities in the UK.  See the Booklet for 2014 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus for details of the UK institutions offering Scholarships joint-funded with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in 2014.

Fields of study:

Shared Scholarship Scheme (SSS) Awards are offered only for subjects relating to the economic, social and technological development of a candidate’s country.  Additional details of the eligible courses (or departments) offered by the institutions is found at the 2014 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus (link above).

Number of Scholarships:

Around 170 Scholarships will be offered distributed to the participating institutions.

Target group:

Nationals of Commonwealth Developing Countries (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda Nauru, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana,  British Virgin Islands, Namibia, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana,  India,  Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati,  Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia,  Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena,  St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa,  Sri Lanka,  Swaziland, Tanzania,Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, and Zambia)

Scholarship value/inclusions:

DFID and participating United Kingdom institutions will jointly meet the full costs of an award holder’s study in the United Kingdom including air fares to and from the United Kingdom. Maintenance allowance is paid by the scholar’s host institution, at the level set by the UK Government: £1,173 per month for scholars based in London and £948 per month for the rest of the UK. (October 2013 figures with an inflationary increase for 2014/15 academic year).

A grant of up to £225 to cover thesis (Master’s) costs is available; also available is £200 for study travel. The cost of up to 10 Kilograms of excess baggage (books only) is available for scholars returning home at the end of their awards.  No additional allowances are paid for spouses or other dependents.


Candidates are normally expected to hold a first degree at either first class or upper second-class level. Sponsoring institutions must confirm that candidates are sufficiently fluent in written and oral English to pursue their proposed studies immediately, as no pre-course English Language Teaching is available under these awards.

Applicants should certify in writing that they:

a. are nationals of a Commonwealth developing country, and not at present living or studying in a developed country;

b. have not undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country;

c . are themselves, or through their families, unable to pay to study in the United Kingdom;

d. will return to their home country as soon as their award comes to an end. The commission will only consider requests to extend leave to remain in the UK post-award for those wishing to move from masters to PhD study. Strict conditions will apply.

Application instructions:

Applications are currently closed.

Applications should be made directly to the institutions at which candidates wish to study. All candidates must submit their application using the Commission’s Electronic Application System (EAS). The EAS will close to applicants on 16 April 2014 and no further applications can be made after that date. Please note that some university closing dates may be before 16 April, and that some universities may require candidates to complete a university application form, in addition to the EAS.

It is important to read the 2014 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus and visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Contact information:

All enquiries should be addressed to the University at which you wish to study.  Contact details of each institution can also be found at the 2014 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus.


Official Scholarship Website:

  • Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from is strictly at your own risk. Please read our full Disclaimer for more information.

    Don't miss a single scholarship!

    Remember to check your email account to confirm your subscription.