UNESCO Fellowships for Priority Development Programmes


Deadline: 30 April 2010 (annual)
Study in: any Country
Duration:1 Sept 2010-31 Dec 2011

Brief description:

The fellowships offered under this scheme are of short term duration (6 months maximum) and are intended for specialized training at the postgraduate level. Priority targets are promising and qualified specialists who seek to undertake advanced research or to upgrade their skills and knowledge of state-of-the-art developments in their field of study or work.

The fellowships target Graduate and Postgraduate candidates for study abroad wishing to pursue training, undertake advanced research, upgrade skills, or attend specialized or refresher courses.

Host Institution(s):

The host institution’s address, the place of study as well as the name of the contact person (including his/her phone and fax numbers as well as e-mail address), should be clearly indicated on the application form. Countries of study within the same region as that of the candidate’s are highly recommended.

NOTE: Confirmation from the host institution(s) of their acceptance to receive the fellow is indispensable prior to the award of the fellowship.

Field of study:

All applications must be closely aligned with “UNESCO’s expected strategic objectives and programme priorities” as decided by the 161st and 165th session of the Executive Board (161 EX/Decision 3.6.3 and 165 EX/Decision 8.6 respectively).

It is therefore recommended that the proposed study programme(s) coincide(s) with the designated priorities for each of the five Major Programme as described in the approved Programme and Budget for 2010-2011 (35 C/5 ):


• Biennial sectoral priority 1: Supporting the achievement of Education for All in countries in need.
•  Biennial sectoral priority 2: Providing global and regional leadership in education.


•  Biennial sectoral priority 1: Policies and capacity-building in science, technology and innovation for sustainable development and poverty eradication.
•  Biennial sectoral priority 2: Sustainable management of freshwater, ocean and terrestrial resources as well as disaster preparedness and mitigation.


•  Biennial sectoral priority 1: Responding to critical global social challenges.
•  Biennial sectoral priority 2: Addressing emerging global ethical issues.


•  Biennial sectoral priority 1: Protecting, safeguarding and managing the tangible and intangible heritage.
•  Biennial sectoral priority 2:  Promoting the diversity of cultural expressions and the dialogue of cultures with a view to fostering a culture of peace.


•  Biennial sectoral priority 1:  Promoting freedom of expression and information.
•  Biennial sectoral priority 2: Building capacities for universal access to information and knowledge.

Number of Awards:

Each Member State may submit 2  candidates listed in order of priority. The second candidature will serve as an alternate in case of cancellation or withdrawal of the first.

Target group:

Priority is given to women candidates and candidates from LDCs (Lest Developed Countries), SIDS (Small Island Developing States) as well as from PCPD countries (post conflict/post disaster) and/or in transition.

Scholarship value/inclusions:

In any event, the maximum cost should not exceed US $15,000 to cover either partially or fully expenses related to the study programme. Should the proposed study programme need additional funds, other sources must be sought by the candidate to ensure completion of studies. Written confirmation issued by other funding sources will be required.

Entitlements of fellows, including health and accident insurance, are standardized, in accordance with the rules and regulations governing Fellowships Programmes.


Applicants should have a University degree, i.e. at least a B.A. or B.Sc. and should not be more than 45 years of age.

Applicants must have exceptional merit, and have demonstrated that they possess outstanding potential to contribute to the social, cultural and economic development of their country. Candidates must be proficient in reading and writing the language of instruction in the proposed country of study.

Priority will be given to well-planned programmes, particularly those for which the necessary contacts have been made in advance with the host institution.

Application instructions:

Completed application form(s) IMP/0023A (x.95) should be sent by 30 April 2010 to the Fellowships Section (contact details found below). Only applications submitted and endorsed by the National Commission of the candidate’s country will be examined. The UNESCO Secretariat cannot entertain requests from individuals.

The application form is found at this link. It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Contact information:

Participation Programme and Fellowships Section
7, place de Fontenoy
75352 Paris 07 SP – France
Fax: 33-1 4568.5503
Email: fellowships@unesco.org

See the directory of National Commissions here.


Official Scholarship Website:  http://portal.unesco.org/en/ev.php-URL_ID=17616&URL_DO=DO_TOPIC&URL_SECTION=201.html

  • Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from scholars4dev.com is strictly at your own risk. Please read our full Disclaimer for more information.