The Marshall Scholarship for US citizens to study in the UK

Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission
Masters Degree

Deadline: 26 Sept 2023 (Annual)
Study in: UK
Course starts Autumn 2024

Brief description:

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the United Kingdom. Up to 50 young Americans are selected each year to study a graduate degree at a UK university, in any field of study. The Marshall Scholarship Programme aims to enable intellectually distinguished young Americans, their country’s future leaders, to study in the UK.

Host Institution(s):

Any UK university

Level/Field(s) of study:

Masters degree in any subject with exceptions listed at this link.

Number of Scholarships:

Up to 50 scholarships are awarded annually

Target group:

US citizens

Scholarship value/inclusions:

The scholarship covers university fees, cost of living expenses, annual book grant, thesis grant, research and daily travel grants, fares to and from the United States and, where applicable, a contribution towards the support of a dependent spouse.

The Two Year Marshall Scholarship is tenable for 2 academic years (ie 22 months), but may be extended by the Commission, though not beyond the end of a third academic year. Third-year extensions are granted by the Commission on a limited basis, for strong academic reasons, subject to the availability of funds.

The One Year Marshall Scholarship is tenable for 1 academic year (ie 12 months) and cannot be extended.


Open only to United States citizens who (at the time they take up their Scholarship) hold a first degree from an accredited four-year college or university in the United States with a minimum GPA of 3.7. To qualify for awards tenable from October 2024, candidates must have graduated from their undergraduate college or university after April 2021.

Persons already studying for or holding a British degree or degree-equivalent qualification are not eligible to apply for a Marshall Scholarship.

Application instructions:

Applications are made in one of eight regions in the United States. Candidates may apply in one region only Рeither that in which they have their permanent home address or ordinary place of residence/employment, or that in which they are studying.  The application closing date is specific to each regional centre, but it generally falls between late September and early October of year preceding tenure.

The deadlines for the 2024 Marshall Competition are: 26 September 2023 for applicants and recommenders at 5:00pm in the time zone your university is located; 28 September 2023 for endorsement and submission by US Institution at 5:00pm in the time zone your university is located.

It is important to read the how to apply page and visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:

Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from is strictly at your own risk. Please read our Terms of Use for more information.