Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships

The Association of Commonwealth Universities
Masters Degree

Deadline: 9 July 2020 (Annual)
Study in: South Africa, Sri Lanka, South Pacific, Namibia, Papua New Guinea
Course starts Jan/Feb 2021, July to Oct 2021

Brief description:

Students from Commonwealth countries who wish to undertake 2 years Masters degree programmes in a low- or middle-income country, other than their own home country, can apply for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS). Aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, the scholarships provide a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, to broaden horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime.

Through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to shared challenges – both in their home countries and those that host them.

Host Institution(s):

• IBMBB, University of Colombo
• University of Sri Jayewardenepura
• The University of the South Pacific
• Fiji National University
• University of Johannesburg
• Rhodes University
• University of Stellenbosch
• University of Venda
• North-West University
• Tshwane University of Technology
• University of Pretoria
• Papua New Guinea University of Technology
• University of Namibia

Level/Field(s) of study:

2 years Masters degrees in eligible courses at the universities listed above. See the Official Website (link found below) for all eligible courses.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified

Target group:

Citizens and individuals who hold a refugee status in Commonwealth countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions:

The scholarship provides for fully-funded tuition fees and a stipend for living expenses, for the duration of the award. The scholarship also covers return economy flights to and from the host country, an arrival allowance, and research support grant. The research grant will only be provided on request, and subject to approval.


Eligible applicants are citizens (or those who hold refugee status) in Commonwealth countries, and they can only apply for 2 years Masters degrees offered at participating universities in eligible low- to middle-income Commonwealth countries. They have to be applying to study in a low- to middle income Commonwealth country other than their own country.

For students who are applying for Cycle 2, 2020, for studies commencing January/February 2021, the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are only available for eligible Masters degree programmes offered at participating universities in the following countries and regions: Sri Lanka, South Pacific, South Africa, Papua New Guinea and Namibia.

There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award. Applicants must have already completed their Bachelors degree and have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1. QECS awards are only for new students and cannot be used to fund a course that has already been started.

Application instructions:

Applications are currently closed.

Applicants do not need to be accepted into a course before they apply for the QECS; but they are encouraged to apply for their chosen course of study before or at the same time as applying for a QECS award. You will need to submit an application for admission to your chosen university course directly to the university in addition to completing a QECS application. You will have to visit your chosen universities’ websites for admissions and application deadlines. The scholarship application deadline for Cycle 2 2020 for studies commencing January/February 2021, is 9 July 2020.

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website: https://www.acu.ac.uk/funding-opportunities/for-students/scholarships/queen-elizabeth-commonwealth-scholarships/

Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from scholars4dev.com is strictly at your own risk. Please read our Terms of Use for more information.