Australia Awards Fellowships

Short Course/Research

Deadline: 29 March 2017 (bi-annual)
Study in:  Australia
Course starts 2017  

Brief description: [ad#contentadtext]

Australia Leadership Awards Fellowships are now Australia Awards Fellowships. The Australian Awards Fellowships are a component of a regional program that aims to develop leadership and build partnerships and linkages with developing countries.  They are intended for those who are already leaders or have the potential to assume leadership roles that can influence social and economic policy reform and development outcomes.

Australia Awards Fellowships are for short-term study, research, and professional attachment programs in Australia delivered by Australian organizations.

Host Institution(s):

Applications are restricted to Australian organizations demonstrating on-going linkages with counterpart overseas organizations in eligible countries.   Australian organizations from a wide range of academic, research, business, industry, media, NGOs, professional groups and government have hosted  fellows in the past rounds.

Field of study:

Applicants must select the specific development and foreign affairs issue that is the focus of their Fellowship proposal from the following list: Arts, Culture and Design; Development Economics; Disability and development; Education; Environment; Food Security; Gender; Governance; Health; Infrastructure; Law and Justice; Mining for Development; Private Sector Development; Science and Innovation; Sport; Trade; Tropical Health and Medical Research; and Water and Sanitation.

Number of Awards:

Not specified.

Target group:

Asia Pacific: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Laos PDR, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Wallis & Futuna

Latin America and Caribbean: Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Venezuela

Africa: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Congo (Republic of), Congo (Democratic Republic of), Egypt, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea (Republic of), Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Other: Turkey

Scholarship value/inclusions:

A maximum of $ 30,000 per Fellow


Australian organisations must ensure that all nominated Fellows meet the following general eligibility requirements:

•  be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Award

•  not have Australian permanent residence status or be applying for permanent residency

•  be a citizen of, and residing in, an eligible developing country

•  not be current serving military personnel

•  not be married or engaged to, or be a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency;

• have been working in their country of citizenship and in an area relevant to the Fellowship activities preceding the date of the proposed commencement of their Fellowship;

• be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection for a visa

• be able to participate in the nominated Fellowship activities at the time and for the duration proposed by the Australian organisation

• be able to travel without family members as DFAT will only fund and provide visa support letters for individual Fellows, not their family members; and

• have an adequate level of English language ability to be able to fully participate in the program, including an ability to complete the Fellow’s Completion Survey at the conclusion of their Fellowship.

Application instructions:

Applications are currently closed.

Fellowship applications must be submitted by the Australian organisation online via SmartyGrants. Deadline is 29 March 2017.

It is important to read the Australia Awards Fellowships Round 17 Guidelines and visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:

Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from is strictly at your own risk. Please read our Terms of Use for more information.