UNESCO/Israel Co-Sponsored Postdoctoral Fellowships for Developing Countries

UNESCO/Israeli Govt
Postdoctoral Fellowship

Next Deadline: 30 Oct 2010 (annual)
Study in:  Israel
Next program starts AY 2010/2011

Brief description:

Within the framework of UNESCO’s Co-Sponsored Fellowships Scheme, a joint programme is being launched with Israel’s Planning and Budgeting Committee of the Council for Higher Education, and, the Israel National Commission for UNESCO, with a view to promoting post-doctoral study and research.

Host Institution(s):

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
The Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Tel-Aviv University
Bar-Ilan University
The University of Haifa
Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
The Weizmann Institute of Science
The Open University of Israel

Field of study:

Open to all academic subjects with priority given to engineering, sciences and water technology

Number of Awards:

Ten (10) fellowships will be awarded to post-doctoral candidates from developing countries interested in undertaking research in state-of-the-art universities/institutions in Israel.

Target group:

Special attention will be given to candidatures on behalf of women and from the Least Developed Countries (LDCs).

The programme is designed to identify and reward deserving, committed and talented young women and men from UNESCO developing  member countries:

AFRICA (32 Member States)

Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African, Chad, Comoros, Docratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Togo, United Republic of Tanzania, Swaziland, Zambia

ASIA AND THE PACIFIC (16 Member States)

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu

EUROPE (21 Member States)

Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lirthuania, Poland, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine


Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Uruguay, Venezuela

ARAB STATES (2 Member States)

Mauritania, Yemen

Scholarship value/inclusions:

An all inclusive lump-sum contribution equivalent in local currency to US$20,000 per year for each selected beneficiary to support her/him during study/research in Israel. The amount offered should cover the international travel costs for the approved itinerary, accommodation, meals, books, local transportation, telephone expenses, medical insurance, and, incidentals, etc.

Note: No provision to finance or lodge family members is made. Facilities will not be available to provide appropriate living conditions, and, the amount of the fellowship is adequate only for the living expenses of the fellow himself/herself.


Applicants must meet the following general criteria:

•  Be from a developing country listed above.
•  Candidates must have received within three years their PhD degree.
• Only candidates with the necessary qualifications, who demonstrate outstanding intellectual promise and personal qualities, shall be considered under this programme.
•  Candidates must be able to integrate an on-going research programme being conducted at one of the universities/institutes listed above.
•  Candidates must be able to communicate in English and are required to provide the TOEFL scores (Test of English as a Foreign Language) obtained.
•  Applicants must be in good health, both physically and mentally.

Application instructions:

It is important to visit the official website (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

For 2010 Cycle, the closing date for submission of documents to UNESCO by applicants approved by Israeli universities is 30 October 2010.

Potential candidates are encouraged to submit their applications as soon as possible, as each participating university/institute may reach its quota and close the enrolment for this programme before this date.

Contact information:

UNESCO Fellowships Programme Section
Address: 7, Place de Fontenoy, 75700 Paris, France
Emails of contact persons can be found here.

Additional information and assistance can be obtained by contacting directly either the university/institute in Israel where placement is desired, or, the Embassy (or the representatives) of Israel in the candidate’s country. Only the listed universities/institutes in Israel can provide ample information on study/research being currently conducted by them.

Visit the website for the contact details of the participating universities.


Official Scholarship Website:  http://portal.unesco.org/en/ev.php-URL_ID=45335&URL_DO=DO_TOPIC&URL_SECTION=201.html

  • Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from scholars4dev.com is strictly at your own risk. Please read our full Disclaimer for more information.