Rhodes Scholarships in Oxford University for Southern Africans

Rhodes Trust
Postgraduate Degree

Deadline: 15 August (annual)
Study in: UK
Next course starts October 2016

Brief description:

The Rhodes Scholarships are postgraduate awards supporting exceptional all-round students at the University of Oxford. The Rhodes Scholarships to Oxford are open to applicants from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland.

Host Institution(s):

Oxford University in United Kingdom.

Field of study:

Eligible full-time post-graduate degrees offered at Oxford University

Number of Awards:

Ten in total: 4 from South Africa at Large, 1 from KwaZulu-Natal, 1 from  Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland (1), and one each from four schools, namely Diocesan College, Cape Town; Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch; St Andrew’s College, Grahamstown; and South African College School, Cape Town.

Target group:

Applicants from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland

Scholarship value/inclusions:

A Rhodes Scholarship covers all University and College fees, the university application fee, a personal stipend for living expenses (£13,658 per annum 2014-15), private health insurance, and economy class airfare to and from Oxford at the commencement and conclusion of the scholarship.


You must have a first degree by the time you start at Oxford, which means that you must be at least in the final year of your first degree when you apply for the  Scholarship. Generally, applicants from South African universities will have had to do very well in their discipline. You will need to obtain a first class or a very strong upper second class degree.

You must be a citizen or legal permanent resident of and have resided for at least five years within the period of ten years immediately preceding your application in South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia or Swaziland.

You must have reached your 19th and not have passed your 25th birthday on 01 October 2016, which means you must have been born after 30 September 1991 and on or before 01 October 1997.  For medical students and medical doctors the age limit is extended by three years.

See the selection criteria that apply in all Rhodes constituencies and then the application criteria specific to Southern Africa.

Application instructions:

Your application must be submitted online by midnight, South African Standard Time (SAST) on 15 August 2015.

It is important to visit the official website and read the information brochure (links found below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website: http://www.rhodestrust.org.za/apply.html

  • Disclaimer: This is NOT the official scholarship page. This is only a one-page summarized listing of the scholarship. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, information may change at any time without notice. For complete and updated information, please always refer to the official website of the scholarship provider. Any reliance you place on information from scholars4dev.com is strictly at your own risk. Please read our full Disclaimer for more information.